I updated my notebook (core 2, 2 GHz) short time ago from openSuSE 11.1-x64 to 11.3-x64. In the past I used this machine once in a while to build OpenOffice.org vanilla. But my last try was some month ago, because I was busy with other tasks. When I installed the openSuSE 11.3 on my box, I get every service for my daily use running first. After my return from our holiday trip I started work on the missing features of my new Linux. I reconstructed the build environment for OpenOffice.org with the install of some more rpm. After this I was able to run ./configure --with-system-mozilla --disable-ldap --disable-binfilter without an error.

But after source LinuxX86-64Env.Set.sh and ./bootstrap the make command stoped in the directory cppunit with an error:
`/local/ooovanilla/ooodev_hg/newworkingDEV300/cppunit/unxlngx6.pro/misc/build/cppunit-1.12.1'
dmake: Error code 2, while making './unxlngx6.pro/misc/build/so_built_cppunit'

I can't find a solution for this issue but I get help from Thorsten Behrens in the go-oo channel. He pointed me to a patch in the go-oo repro: build-allow-system-cppunit-1.12.0.diff.
This patch changes the line in the configure.in from
PKG_CHECK_MODULES( CPPUNIT, cppunit >= 1.12.1 )
to
PKG_CHECK_MODULES( CPPUNIT, cppunit >= 1.12.0 )

I had to do a autoconf and to restart ./configure with the addition of the option --with-system-cppunit.
This solved the error inside the cppunit folder.

But I ran into an new error short afterwards. This error had to do with the new compiler gcc 4.5. The error message told me that this compiler is unsupported. I had to do another patch of the code. I get this patch also from the go-oo repro. It is written down in the file cppu-lbnames-enable-gcc-4.5.diff. I had to patch the file cppu/inc/uno/lbnames.h.
I changed two lines:
elif (__GNUC__ == 4 && __GNUC_MINOR__ <= 4)

to

#elif (__GNUC__ == 4 && __GNUC_MINOR__ <= 5)

and

#error "Supported gcc majors are 2 , 3 and 4 <= 4.4. Unsupported gcc major version."

to

#error "Supported gcc majors are 2 , 3 and 4 <= 4.5. Unsupported gcc major version."

Now every thing build fine and I get OpenOffice.org-3.3.0-9511-x64-rpm.
Der Beitrag wurde am Mittwoch, 25. August 2010, 11:37 veröffentlicht und wurde unter dem Topic OpenOffice.org abgelegt.
'Compiling OOo vanilla on openSuSE 11.3'